Jail Trail Race Recap -MN High School Cycling League

by Libby Hurley [email protected]


Freshman Girls | Start chute at Jail Trail

The day before Race # 2, in a series of five,  a powerful, but short, rain storm came through St. Cloud, Minn. Then on race day, September 21st, the clouds moved out and the sandy Jail Trail dried up to ideal conditions for 450 high school student riders from 41 schools, battling it out for points and race day trophies. Now with Race #3 this coming Sunday, excitement is brewing amongst the Minnesota High School Cycling teams with a race day in Rochester.


Boys Frosh D1, Luke Sicora, Armstrong | Jail Trail Race #2

Regarding Race #2, on the 21st., the”Jail Trail always delivers.” said MN League Director, Josh Kleve. “All of the student-athletes impressed not only each other, but themselves with their performances today.”


Freshman Boys, Div 2 tear out of the start chute at Jail Trail

Eastview School took top slots with the Doolittle brothers Luke and Joshua. Luke took home the JV Division 2 first place medal and younger brother Joshua took first place in Middle School Division 2…by seconds, just ahead of Henry Hall, from Minneapolis’s Southside.


2014 Race 3: Soph Boys Div 1 | Jail Trail –

There were a number of exciting photo finishes: Freshman Girls: Moriah Johnson from Duluth East beat out Siri Bohacek from Stillwater for first place by just over a second! Varsity Girls: Jordan Horner from Burnsville held onto first place over Cianna Swanson from Lakeville North by 29 seconds!


MS Boys, Jail Trail

Race Results and Photos

Individual results are now posted to the minnesotamtb.org site. Photo Credit: Todd Bauer, tmbimages.com. MN League Official Photographer

Individual Race Results:

Middle School Girls: 1. Zoe Camp — Mpls Southside Comp 2. Courtney Johnson — Crosby Ironton 3. Anastasia Antanovich — Eastview High School 4. Kira Anderson — Chanhassen High School 5. Gracen Hardy — Cuyuna Lakes Middle School Boys Division 1: 1. Nick Gordon — Minnetonka High School 2. Max Kennedy — Stillwater High School 3. Luke Larson — Prior Lake High School 4. Ian Ruh — Stillwater High School 5. Grant Hietpas — Stillwater High School Middle School Boys Division 2: 1. Joshua Doolittle — Eastview High School 2. Henry Hall — Mpls Southside Comp 3. Liam O’Kelly — St. Croix Valley Comp 4. Connor Bich — Duluth Comp 5. Henry Seiser — St. Croix Valley Comp Freshman Girls: 1. Moriah Johnson — Duluth East High School 2. Siri Bohacek — Stillwater High School 3. Hannah Brown — Stillwater High School 4. Elli Pfeiffer — Prior Lake High School 5. Katia Swanson — Lakeville North High School Freshman Boys – D1 1. Ian Derauf — Duluth East High School 2. Sebastien Frimat — Edina Mountain Bike Team 3. Luke Sicora — Armstrong Cycle Club 4. Shawn Higgins Jr — Duluth East High School 5. Jack Lange — Stillwater HS Freshman Boys – D2 1. Braeden Anderson — Cuyuna Lakes Mountain Bike Team 2. Alex Sipe — Wayzata Mountain Bike Team 3. Gavin Abric — Duluth Comp 4. Jasper Kiefer — Bloomington Comp 5. Stephen Hatt — Lakeville North High School Sophmore Girls 1. Nikita Finnerty — Crosby Ironton 2. Madeline Pernat — Chanhassen High School 3. Sophie Dirnberger — Hopkins High School 4. Kali Meckle — Washburn High School 5. Molly Junker — Stillwater High School Sophmore Boys – D1 1. Michael Davis — Duluth East High School 2. Dylan Kiefer — Minnetonka High School 3. Elliot Forst — Minnetonka High School 4. Nathan Latz — Hopkins High School 5. Nathan Edstrom — Hopkins High School Sophmore Boys – D2 1. Will Curtis — St. Paul Central 2. Xavier Mansfield — Minneapolis Patrick Henry High School 3. Connor Rono — Crosby Ironton 4. Eli Markworth — Washburn High School 5. Luke McDonell — Highland Park High School Junior Varsity Girls: 1. Sophie Farrow — Duluth East High School 2. Amanda Susnik — Duluth East High School 3. Sydney Carlson — Apple Valley HS 4. Ellie Hedlund — MPLS Southside Comp 5. Justice Sahaydak — Mpls Southside Comp Junior Varsity Boys – D1 1. Collin Maynard — Hopkins High School 2. Brandan Eisma — Prior Lake High School 3. Jason Colestock — Edina Cycling Team 4. Ben Johnson — Duluth East High School 5. Matt Trumper — Stillwater High School Junior Varsity Boys – D2 1. Luke Doolittle — Eastview High School 2. Campbell Karjala — Bloomington Composite 3. Nathan Bich — Duluth Composite Team 4. Wyatt Furois — Roseville Area Composite 5. Mac Hansen — Mpls Southside Comp Varsity Girls 1. Jordan Horner — Burnsville High School 2. Cianna Swanson — Lakeville North High School 3. Josie Welsh — Armstrong Cycle Club 4. Kalli Opsal — Lakeville South/Farmington Comp 5. Camille Sjoquist — Apple Valley High School


Samuel Olson | Current Leader of Varsity Boys | Jail Trail #2

Varsity Boys 1. Samuel Olson — Duluth Composite Team 2. Samuel Hayden — Duluth East High School 3. Samuel Elson — Cuyuna Lakes High School 4. Sam Hedlund — Mpls Southside Comp 5. Josey Weik — Duluth Composite Team Middle School Team Results 1. Mpls Southside Comp 2. Crosby Ironton 3. Eastview High School Team – Division 1 Results 1. Duluth East High School 2. Hopkins High School 3. Edina Cycling Team Team – Division 2 Results 1. Mpls Southside 2. Lakeville North High School 3. Apple Valley High School 2014 MN High School Cycling League venues and dates: 9/7 – Race #1 – Buck Hill, Burnsville, MN 9/21 – Race #2 – Jail Trail, St. Cloud, MN 10/5 – Race #3 – Game Haven, Rochester, MN 10/12 – Race #4 – Mt. Kato, Mankato, MN 10/26 – Race #5 – State Championships: Whitetail Ridge, River Falls, WI 11/1 – Season Awards Banquet

Race #3 – Game Haven, Rochester, MN

Another exciting race weekend is almost here and 41 teams from all across Minnesota are preparing to head to Rochester for Race #3, to compete on the Game Haven Trail. See Race Flyer and Course Map, then, come and listen for the cowbells and be sure to cheer on the students as they head to the finish line in Rochester.

All Race Results and Photos

Individual results are now posted to the minnesotamtb.org site. Photo Credit: Todd Bauer, tmbimages.com. MN League Official Photographer.

Additional Race and MN League Information:

MN League Website: minnesotamtb.org MN League Facebook: facebook.com/MinnesotaMTB MN League Twitter: twitter.com/MinnesotaMTB

About the Minnesota High School Cycling League

The Minnesota High School Cycling League, founded in 2012, serves all Minnesota high school and middle school-aged students, and regardless of ability level, is committed to providing a positive co-ed cycling experience. Each MN League season includes summer camps, a five-race series, wilderness first aid certification courses and a Spring Leaders’ Summit for training and certification of coaches. The MN League exists by virtue of a range of fundraising activities, as well as generous donors, and MN League sponsors including the founding national sponsor, Specialized Bicycle Components; as well as establishing NICA sponsors Easton Foundations, SRAM, and Trek Bicycles; major sponsors, Giro, Clif Bar and Company, Primal Wear, Quality Bicycle Products, GU Sports, Cannondale, Kinetic, Maxxis, CamelBak, Feedback Sports, Optic Nerve, Easton, Athletic Event Supply, Fort Lewis College, Lees McRae, Fox Racing Shox, Sho-Air, Yakima, Lizard Skins, DeFeet and Ritchey Designs; media partners Bicycle Retailer, Dirt Rag, Singletracks, Switchback and Cyclingnews. MN League specific sponsors include Founding Retailers Penn Cycle and Erik’s Bike and Board Shop, AAA, Mt. Borah, Life Time Cycle, Minnesota Mountain Bike Series, Salsa, Peace Coffee Racing, Park Tool, Karma Race Management, Ipsity Marketing, HaveFunBiking.com, Trailhead Cycling and Valley Bike and Ski. For more information on the MN League, visit minnesotamtb.org.